Placement School Day

‘What do you want to get done today?’ This morning I met with my school mentor for the first time to begin my induction into school life. To say that I felt overwhelmed is an understatement. I had so many questions to ask and I just didn’t know where to begin, luckily my mentor did. A huge bundle of papers was sitting on her desk and there was nothing to do but get started!

After an hour of reading, signing and photocopying, I made my way down to the Reception corridor to meet my new class. I was very nervous.

I needn’t have been so worried. As soon as I walked in the class teacher made me feel at ease. Describing the children as a wonderful class that I would enjoy teaching, she suggested that I go and introduce myself. With the full run of the reception classrooms, it was initially difficult to spot the children in my class. Luckily I was armed with a print out of names and photographs of each child so that I could play matching pairs.

I spent the rest of the day observing the children and their teacher. I kept notes about little things that each child had told me: their likes, dislikes and their close friends. I also had the opportunity to ask the teacher lots of questions. She was amazingly helpful, showing me each child’s special folder with examples of their work and briefing me on some of the needs of my class.

At the end of the day I was invited to read with my class for the first time. The children were full of interest and energy and I could tell that they loved stories. I am so excited to work with them over the coming year. They already have a real love of learning and so much potential. However, the pressure is on! It’s up to me to continue the good work of their current teacher and get them through the challenging transition from Reception to Year 1. I feel immensely fortunate but I know this is a huge responsibility.

One thought on “Placement School Day

Leave a Reply

