Time for an Early Night

Today has been the hardest of the Summer Institute so far. The window situation has meant I’ve been getting very little sleep and my tiredness, combined with a very busy week, has started to take its toll on my concentration during IOE sessions. This is making me a bit worried about next week. My partner-school is an hour and fifteen minutes away from our nearest tube station, and that is without factoring in walking to and from the tube either side! I know that I will have to make the best of it and power through, but it isn’t ideal, particularly when there is so much information to absorb in such a short space of time. While the expansion of Teach First is really positive, it has created some logistical problems in terms of the distance between venues for training and accomodation. In the future, I think it would be more productive for groups of London participants to be housed within their sub-region of, particularly for placement weeks. This would also mean we could spend more time getting to know our local communities, which, as Thursday’s session showed, would be an immensely valuable experience.

The sessions today focused on early reading and literacy. I really enjoyed testing out some of the learning strategies for speaking and listening work. The teaching at the IOE is really fantastic and I feel very lucky to be working with such great teachers from the outset of my career.

I’ve got lots to do this weekend: my reflection task, pre-reading for the school experiences on Monday, some preparation for our first written assignment and maybe even a trip to Ikea for some things for my classroom; an early night is definitely in order!

One thought on “Time for an Early Night

Leave a Reply

